My “Sunshine/Feel Good-After-The-Rain” Playlist

I love music.

Its my escape, my savior, my strength, my weakness. I’m not good on singing though, even dancing. But who cares? When I’m down or happy, I love listening to good and old songs and it just helps in setting the mood I’m currently in.


Like right now. After being sick for a couple of days, browsing the net using my iPhone (small screen, mahirap mag browse. Buti nalang I was able to fix my PC. I though I needed a computer technician but I just need to clean the plug contacts pala) and the non stop raining, I woke up this morning and noticed that it’s really quiet. No more raindrops sound sa labas. Which means one thing, the rain FINALLY stopped. I opened my window and the I saw the sunlight rush in inside my room.

In times like this, a bunch of good “sunshine/feel good-after-the-rain” songs comes into my mind. I actually have my own playlist and I’m here to share it with you. Here are my top five faves:

Here Comes The Sun, The Beatles, 1969
Album: Abbey Road
Favorite Line: “Little darling, it’s been a long cold lonely winter”
Why?: This was the fourth song that I placed in my iPod (di ko yun makakalimutan). I grew up listening to The Beatles since my Dad is a big fan. It makes me feel like the storm has ended, I should leave the past behind and start a new day.

Ray Of Light, Madonna, 1998
Album: Ray Of Light
Favorite Line: “And I feel like I just got home. And I feel”
Why?: Aside from the fact that I love Madonna, this is my “wake-up-to-prep-up” song everynight. Paulit ulit lang siya hanggang sa matapos ako mag bihis. I dunno, it makes me feel that I’m now ready to face a new day.

Put Your Records On, Corrine Bailey Rae, 2006
Album: Corrine Bailey Rae
Favorite Line: “Blue as the sky, sombre and lonely. Sipping tea in the bar by the road side, (just relax, just relax)”
Why?: Its one of my feel good songs which reminds me that its ok to be wrong sometimes and there’s nothing that I need to worry about. It’s normal to be sad and blue at times but at the end of the day (as the saying goes) there’s a rainbow after the rain.

Walking On Sunshine, Katrina And The Waves, 1985
Album: Walking On Sunshine
Favorite Line: “I’m walking on sunshine (whoa oh oh) and don’t it feel good”
Why?: I love it because it’s 80’s music. Okay aaminin ko, no matter how I am feeling, this song that makes me get up and dance to in front of the mirror. It always brightens up my day and makes me want to do and accomplish a lot of things after slumbering on my bed for hours.

Soak Up The Sun, Sheryl Crow, 2002
Album: C’mon, C’mon
Favorite Line: “It’s not having what you want. It’s wanting what you’ve got”
Why?: Seriously, it has a very light, “near to non-sense” lyrics. She’s just talking about how things suck for her, but she’s still happy and she’s looking up. But I love it since it gives you that happy vibe and if only I can drive, this will be my driving song. For me, is ok to have fun, loosen up and be a little non-sense too sometimes.

So there, my “the sun is here” playlist. Hope it makes you feel happy too like what it does to me.

One thought on “My “Sunshine/Feel Good-After-The-Rain” Playlist

  1. First of all I want to say terrific blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you don’t
    mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your head prior to writing.
    I’ve had a tough time clearing my mind in getting my ideas out.
    I do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to
    15 minutes tend to be wasted just trying to figure out
    how to begin. Any ideas or tips? Kudos!

Leave a Reply

