RECIPES: When I Craved For Thai Green Mango Salad

It was a sunny Saturday afternoon in Bangkok. Me and my friends were walking the busy alleys of Jatujak Weekend Market. We haven’t had lunch and we were so hungry when I saw a stall full of shereded green mangoes, carrots, nuts, onions and anchioves.

I approached the stall and started to salivate when I smelled the sour scent of the mangoes infront of me. I immediately grabbed my bag to get 40.00 Baht and I ordered the salad. The ingredients looked delicious. I was amazed while watching the lady make my salad. It was divine! I can still remember the first bite, the flavours and the textures, the crunch of the anchovies while having the sweetness, sourness, and spiciness of the other ingredients. I simply loved it! Here’s how it looked like:

When I landed here in Manila, that’s the first food I craved for. That’s why last Sunday, I’ve decided to make my own version. Isaac helped me to make this (actually, he did most of the work, hehehe) and I must say for first timers, it was pretty close to the one I tasted in Thailand and we did a good job. This was also my first recipe entry so I’m excited to share it with you.


For our version of Thai Green Mango Salad. You’ll need:

Salad:
2 pcs. Green Mangoes, shredded
1 pc. Carrot, shredded
1 pc. Red onion, sliced
2 Tbsp. Toasted dried anchovies (I got this from Bangkok)
2 Tbsp. Lighty salted roasted peanuts (you can also use cashew nuts)
2 Tbsp. Dried, crunchy beans (I got this from Bangkok too. Optional)

Dressing:
5 Tbsp. Pantai Thai Fish Sauce (ok, I found this in SM Supermarket, in the International section. It’s kinda sweet so you can’t use the normal pinoy Patis)
3 Tbsp. Brown sugar
5 Tbsp. Lime juice
2pcs. Red chili (labuyo, now it depends on you if you on how spicy you want it)


Procedure:
1. Put the mangoes, carrots and onions in a bowl.
2. Mix the fish sauce, lime juice, brown sugar and the chili in a bowl until the sugar is dissolved. Taste the dressing and add more chili if you want it spicy.
3. Mix the dressing with the salad mixture.
4. Put the salad in a dish and garnish with anchovies, nuts and crunchy beans.
5. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

