GOING VIETNAMESE: The Pho Hoa Dining Experience

Me and Isaac has this plan of eating all cuisines that is available here in Manila and someday, go to its country of origin to have it there and compare it with the ones that we have here. Sounds exciting huh?

So, for a newbie like me, who is so afraid of trying something new, I already tried some; Japanese, Filipino, Greek-Mediterranean, Indian and Thai. Last Sunday, he brought me to Pho Hoa. It is a chain of Vietnamese restaurants that started in California and is now all over the world. They have locations all over Asia (Korea, Philippines, Singapore, Macau), in Canada, and spread throughout the US. I think restaurant’s philosophy is to offer a “healthier food choice”.

The place was nice, although a bit small, but I think there are other branches with bigger spaces. Their menu is very interesting too, here’s what we ordered:

Pomelo Shrimp Salad, P 115.00
Now, this one caught my attention immediately since I still can’t get over that Thai Mango Salad that I had in Thailand. However, this didn’t even reached my taste buds. The waiter forgot to serve it. It was a little disappointing but we’ll have it next time.

Bún Gà Nướng, Vermicelli Bowl, P 175.00
This one I enjoyed eating. Grilled pork with vermicelli, pickled carrots and daikon, bean sprouts, and peanuts. You toss this together with a fish-sauce/vinegar based broth. Absolutely delicious.

Kung Pao Chicken with Peanuts and Red Chili, P 165.00
This was Booboo’s order. Breaded chicken fillets on a savory Kung Pao sauce topped with spring onions, red chili and peanuts. So perfect for pasta, but for hot steaming rice too.

Another thing that caught our attention, actually, Booboo’s attention, was this condiment right here. Its called “Sriracha or “rooster” chili sauce” and it goes with everything. He said its his favorite hot sauce and when I tasted it, it was really hot!

Here’s the guy who brought me here. He’s very good with food.

I’m looking forward to try everything on the menu. I had a lot of fun at Pho Hoa and I would definitely return for my Pomelo Shrimp Salad. So if you wanna try something new, something fresh, and something healthy, try the nearest Pho Hoa near you. It was an experience.

Pho Hoa Vietnamese Noodle House, Alabang Town Center
Entertainment Complex, Alabang Town Center, Alabang
Muntinlupa City, Metro Manila
Philippines
(02) 772-3894

Leave a Reply

